Pahlaj Nihalani Exit Brings Freshness to Many in Hindi Film Industry ; Vidya Balan Added to the CBFC Board


Pahlaj Nihalani Exit Brings Freshness: Pahlaj Nihalani who was known for ordering film cuts and giving them no certification was sacked. Pahlaj Nihalani alleged that since the time he became CBFC chief in 2015 “there have been elements working against me, some of them from within the CBFC. One of the most controversial censor board chairpersons who skirmished with film producers over cuts, beeps and disclaimers he insisted on, Nihalani said, “I had been preparing myself for my exit for months now.”

Lyricist and adman Prasoon Joshi replace Pahlaj for a three-year term. Pahlaj stated that, “These elements — I’m not going to name them on-record are currently celebrating premature Diwali. None at all. Believe me, I was brought in as the CBFC chairperson all a sudden. I happily took up the job that the government thought me fit for. Now when the government has asked me to step down, I do so without any regret.”

Pahlaj Nihalani Exit Brings Freshness to Hindi Film Industry:

National Award winning actress Vidya Balan has been appointed as part of the reconstituted CBFC. Vidya said she was very happy to join the CBFC. “I hope to fulfill my responsibilities as a member to the best of my abilities. I look forward to this new and exciting phase where our cinema will be allowed to reflect the sensibilities, realities and complexities of the society we are living in today.”

The board now comprises Bollywood actor Vidya Balan, Tamil actors Gautami Tadimalla and Jeevitha Rajashekhar, author Narendra Kohli, director-producer Naresh Chandra Lal and Vivek Agnihotri, award-winning concert pianist and Hindi music director Neil Herbert Nongkynrih, National School of Drama director Waman Kendre, Kannada film director T S Nagabharana, and dialogue-writer Mihir Bhuta as members.

Joshi is known for his contribution to films like “Black”, “Taare Zameen Par”, “Bhaag Milkha Bhaag”, “Rang De Basanti”, “Delhi-6” and “Neerja” and for designing successful ad campaigns. Honoured with Padma Shri, the National Award winner penned the theme song for Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s Swachh Bharat Abhiyan and other campaigns.

For More Latest Updates: Follow PressKS