Virat Kohli Receives Padma Shri Award Along with 7 Other Athletes at Rashtrapathi Bhavan


Virat Kohli Receives Padma Shri: Indian Cricket team Captain, Virat Kohli receives Padma Shri Award for his contribution towards Indian Cricket. He received the award by the hands of Indian President, Pranab Mukherjee in Rashtrapathi Bhavan. He led the Indian cricket team for a successful home season and ranked at the top of the table in ICC test rankings after taking the reins of the team from MS Dhoni.

Indian cricket captain Virat Kohli was among the eight sportspersons who were picked for the prestigious Padma Shri alongside hockey captain PR Sreejesh, Rio Olympics heroes wrestler Sakshi Malik, gymnast Dipa Karmakar, Paralympian Mariyappan Thangavelu and Deepa Malik, discus thrower Vikas Gowda and blind cricket team captain Shekhar Naik.

Virat Kohli Receives Padma Shri at Rashtrapathi Bhavan:

Among the 89 candidates who were announced to be given Padma Shri award, 4th highest civilian award in the country, there were 8 athletes and Virat Kohli is among them. The announcement of Padma Shri was made on Republic Day and was given the chance to serve the nation even more better in cricket. He led the Indian cricket team victorious among the other top national countries.

Even his did well with his bat and even in the captaincy. It is not the only one which he has but also he encouraged all his team mates in the times of need and got the name of a great leader. It is no surprise that he got the Padma Shri besides the other athletes. Even Dipa Karmakar who took India’s pride internationally in Gymastics and has shown courage competing with other great athletes.

For More Latest Sports Updates: Follow PressKS