After 8 Years ABVP Sweeps Hyderabad University student union elections


Akhil Bharatiya Vidyarthi Parishad swept the students’ union elections in the University of Hyderabad for the first time in eight years, winning the top six posts. The ABVP, which contested the polls together with the Other Backward Classes Federation (OBCF) and Sevalal Vidyarthi Dal (SLVD), bagged all six posts, including that of President, Vice-President, General Secretary, Joint Secretary and Cultural Secretary in the elections held on October 5.

The results were announced late on Saturday by the University of Hyderabad (popularly known as Hyderabad Central University).

The elections saw intense competition among Students Federation of India, ABVP-OBCF-SLVD, and United Democratic Alliance, represented by Ambedkar Students Association, Bahujan Students Front, Dalit Students Union and National Students Union of India.

More than 3,900 students took part in the polling, a statement released by the University said.

A PhD scholar, Aarti Nagpal of ABVP-OBCF-SLVD won the president’s post, while the vice-presidents post was bagged by Amit Kumar.

Aravind S Kumar won Cultural Secretary’s post and Nikhil Raj K, the post of Sports Secretary, the release said. The Alliance for Social Justice, comprising SFI,Ambedkar Students Association, Dalit Students’ Union and fewother groups had swept the UoH student union elections in 2017.

For More Latest Breaking News Follow: PressKS