Telangana Assembly polls: Congress Released first list of 65 candidates for December 7


Congress Monday night released its first list of 65 candidates for the December 7 Telangana Assembly polls. The list was released after a marathon meeting of the party’s Central Election Committee (CEC) chaired by party president Rahul Gandhi. All state Congress leaders were present at the meeting. Congress is seeking to upstage K Chandrashekar Rao-led Telangana Rashtra Samithi (TRS) in Telangana. The list was released late at night by CEC General Secretary Mukul Wasnik.

The process of filing nominations began Monday with the Election Commission issuing notification for the polls The last date for submitting nominations is November 19.

Congress has teamed up with TDP, CPI and Telangana Jana Samiti (TJS) to form a “grand alliance”.

Congress had earlier announced its decision to leave 14 seats to TDP, eight to TJS and three to the CPI. However, the CPI has been pushing for at least five seats, though it said it would remain in the alliance.

Meanwhile, Mr. Naidu is now meeting various opposition leaders and is seeking to be a part of a united front of various parties to defeat BJP.

For More Latest Political News Follow: PressKS