Congress Releases Third List of 13 candidates for Telangana state assembly elections


Telangana Congress on Saturday declared a list of 13 candidates for the upcoming Telangana Assembly Elections on December 7. Earlier on Wednesday, Congress had released a list of 10 candidates. The Congress has so far finalized candidates for 88 constituencies, out of 94 in which it is contesting, having left the remaining 25 seats to partners of the Maha Kootami (grand alliance).The Congress declares candidates comprises from an SC, three ST, three BC, three Muslims, and three Reddy community candidates.


In a major development, the highly contentious seat of Jangaon went to former Telangana Pradesh Congress Committee chief Ponnala Lakshmaiah.

Others who got tickets include Soyam Bapu Rao from Boath, Taher Bin Hamdan from Nizamabad (Urban), and Dr Rekula Bhupathi Reddy from Nizamabad (Rural). D Sudheer Reddy will contest on a Congress ticket from LB Nagar in the heart of Hyderabad city, while E Anil Kumar will contest Balkonda. Three candidates in the Old City area where the Congress has promised to oust the AIMIM were also announced – K Rajendra Raju for Yakutpura, Kalem Baba from Bahadurpura and Osman Bin Mohammed Al-Hazri from Karwan. Balu Naik for Deverakonda, Addanki Dayakar from Tungathurthy and Banoth Haripriya Naik from Yellandu are also in the fray. The party is yet to announce candidates for another six seats, which is expected to be done by evening.

Previously, Indian National Congress made a declaration that the party would leave 14 seats to TDP (Telugu Desam Party), 8 seats to TJS (Telangana Jana Samithi) and 3 seats to CPI. But the latest updates claim that CPI is now pushing for minimum 5 seats. Do Read: TDP Candidate Sama Ranga Reddy started election campaign in ibrahimpatnam.

Meanwhile, the BJP also announced its fourth list of seven candidates for the Telangana elections. Till now, BJP announced the list for 93 segments out of the 119. The first list consists of 38 candidates and 28 candidates were added to the second list and 20 in third list.

The assembly elections in Telangana will be held on December 7. The counting of votes will take place on December 11.

For More Latest Political News Follow: PressKS